Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Write Your Name In Kindness

my logo

“Live for something. Do good and leave behind your monument of virtue that the storms of life can never destroy. Write your name in kindness love and mercy on the hearts of thousands that you come in contact with year after year. You will never be forgotten.”

Thomas Chalmers

Write you name in kindness. What a concept when so many want to be famous and have great wealth. Kindness should be a simple thing. I will always remember the kindness people showed me while the rest would go by the wayside. I think about my student in my third grade class, who was at the hospital when I had surgery many years ago because her Dad had surgery. She saw I was alone in my room right next to the room her Dad was in and so she sat with me most of that day and put cool cloths on my brow and held the glass for me to sip water. Such kindness and the memory is as fresh today as the day it happened twenty something years ago.

Kindness goes a long way. I have sat and watched people do something so kind and it would touch my heart even when the kindness was being shown someone else. These things seem to stick with us for kindness is such a great gift to bestow on someone.

A good character is the best tombstone. Those who loved you and were helped by you will remember you when forget-me-nots have withered. Carve your name on hearts, not on marble.

Charles H. Spurgeon

Kindness, mercy, and love are a universal language that everyone can understand even if we do not speak the same language. Are we becoming a cynical society? Do we see the bad so vividly that we no longer see the good and those that need a kind word or kind touch? I read on different places on the internet and the anger and hate by some are palpable. What has happened to our world?

Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see.

Mark Twain

I can think of times in my life when all I wanted was kindness, a gentle touch and soothing words and I know many others in this world are the same way. Being kind cost us nothing but time and a little effort. We should try to be kind as often as we can. I hate the expression “random act of kindness” for it implies random should only be occasionally. What about having kindness all the time?

Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.

Leo Buscaglia

Have you ever thought about the effect you have on others. Think about how many people you come in contact with daily, even those you never speak to but just are seen. How has your behavior affected them? Have you ever thought about what your behavior or lack of behavior or action might do to those you come in contact with? Are you writing your name in kindness? Are you being kind anyway even when you do not feel like it?

You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

So, are you writing your name in kindness? Are you writing your name in mercy and love for others? Are you leaving behind a monument of love and caring that has made a mark that can not be forgotten or washed away? Gone are the days communities come together to help families build their homes or raise their barns, but the days of reaching out in love and helping others in time of need or just giving comfort and love need not be gone. We need to be kind anyway.

Treat everyone with politeness, even those who are rude to you – not because they are nice, but because you are.

Author Unknown

When was the last time you carried dinner to someone, called someone to see how they are, visited a shut-in, drove someone to a doctor appointment that you knew had no transportation, did something for someone just because you knew they needed it? When was the last time you smiled at strangers and had a kind word or smiled and spoke back when they spoke to you? When was the last time you wrote your legacy on a monument called a legacy of kindness? Sad to say but most people say “call me if you need me” when if we just used our eyes, we would know when someone was in need and would know to just offer to help.

As for me:

I expect to pass through life but once. If therefore, there be any kindness I can show, or any good thing I can do to any fellow being, let me do it now, and not defer or neglect it, as I shall not pass this way again.

William Penn

January 13, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Reblogged this on brightessenceblog.

    Comment by stillsoulbird | January 13, 2016 | Reply

  2. beautiful post

    Comment by stillsoulbird | January 13, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

