Simply danLrene

Work Your Dream

What Does Not Kill You Makes You Stronger

my logo

I love this video, not just for cancer patients but those chronically ill.  This person is making the choice to smile in the worst of circumstances. That is what I try to do.  I put a smile on my face and sing and dance my way through it all. 🙂 No, I am not pretending. I am choosing to be happy. There is a difference. Those pretending, it shows you are pretending.

video by Megan Kowalewski

I say this so often that it sounds like a mantra.  If your choices are not making you happy, then make different choices. Our happiness is up to us and we have to make the right choices and to make our own happiness no matter what is happening. We can not depend on others to do it for us.

mojo-on

So, dare to smile, dare to be a little silly, dare to laugh even when life seems so hard for it will lighten your whole being and help you fight the battle.  My battle cry is MOJO ON!!!   Ask son sometime for he will tell you that I put on my MOJO baseball cap and as he rolls me back to the pain clinic to have the nerves burnt in my spine or rolls me in for surgery, he will tell you I have attitude.  I think I might wear these for the upcoming surgery. I mean who can not smile with those on? And of course, everyone needs a leopard shawl to wear.Picture 047But maybe I will put on my black long johns. LOL

Picture 049

Choose to do things that make you laugh, make you smile, brings joy to your heart, and releases stress. No one said life would be easy but it is up to us in how we deal with what life offers. We can either be the victim always complaining or we can be the survivor, the warrior looking for solutions to things happening in our lives. I prefer being a survivor. I do not have the “give up” gene in me. I fight to the end. And look at yourself, see yourself as a survivor for that makes a big difference in how we fight life’s battles. This is a good example of how I see myself. As sick as I really am with all the things I have wrong, I still do not think of myself as sick or disabled. Maybe because my mind is not.

how you see yourself

image from themetapicture.com

Something about me that those closest to me know is that no matter how sick I am, I always find a way to dance. Our minds are amazing things and can take us places we want to go if we allow them. Below is a poem I wrote about me when I was at my worst and it shows you how I still time travel and still do things and still find joy in my life.

The Last Dance

With wisps of hair across her beautiful face

Tears on her cheeks your finger could trace

She stood there with head bowed in humble prayer

Feeling as if she were the only one that cared

She closed her eyes and listened once more

To the music that always drew her to the door

The music rose in tempo and sound

She knew her time was coming around

Was her dream to dance just one last dance

And she knew tonight was her only chance

Rising on toes, she danced across the stage

Her body tensing up for the very next page

As she jumped to twirl up in the air

She suddenly felt his hands right there

He lifted her higher than she had ever flown

And twirled and danced  better than she had ever known

He molded himself to her as if one

And remained there lifting her until the dance was done

The applause thundered and echoed around the room

And she felt as if life had just started to bloom

As the sounds died down, she smiled with tears

Not being able to dance was one of her fears

Then she opened her eyes and looked around

Oxygen hoses and hospital beds are what she found

As she glanced down she saw her toes pointed down

And she knew only her attitude kept her bed bound

No matter what happened she could dance so free

She just had to close her eyes and the stage she would see

danLrene

February 6, 2016 - Posted by | Inspiration, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I choose joy!

    Comment by Mlissabeth | February 6, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

