Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Which Do You Choose? Values Or Fame?

my logo

“Try not to become a man of success, but rather try to become a man of value.”

Albert Einstein

 I love this quote for it says what I believe so well.  Too many people go after fame, fortune..success and somewhere along the line, morals and values get lost. We have all seen it in everything from the ministry business where te$evangelists are convicted of fraud to big businesses and financial business like the Ponzi schemes.

So, what happens along the way? Does the attention, the fame, the glory and all the money change people and turn them into something they were not?  I think so. I think we are all capable of being swayed by these things with some of us swayed easier than others.Some people live their values and others just talk their values.

I would rather be a person known for my honesty, my values, my morals, my compassion and kindness for others than to be known as the Owner of some big business.. To me, when all that is important is the money and the fame, you have sold your soul to the devil. Following the crowd can lead us into the wrong places. We must begin to use our brains and think about what is going on and to stand up for what is right. Standing up for what is right may mean we stand alone but that is alright. I have been there standing up against an injustice and found myself standing all alone and those that I thought would stand against someone being mistreated were just coughing up their sleeves. But, it is better to stand up for what is right than to be complacent.

I also prefer to be around people who are authentic, moral and have values. I have learned through my many years  (yeah yeah, some older than dirt wisdom here) that the people you hang around with are those that reflect your values and morals. What is that old saying  “birds of a feather ..flock together?”  After a while those values or lack there of will start to rub off on a person.

I can remember running with the wrong crowd and I never felt like I fit in but it was the “IN” crowd so it must be good. Right? I was friends with the leaders and that made me special, right?  WRONG. It just made me look like someone whose values were less than I wanted mine to be. They are just people and in fact they were people who did not have the morals I did. And so, I started looking for those that did. And now, I am content and do not feel like I have to compromise my own morals by agreeing with someone who wants to do things that are not right. And being silent with these people is looked at as agreeing. You may not agree but if you do not stand up for what is right,  you are just as bad as the ones doing it. Complacency makes us complicit to what is happening.

Yesterday, I watched a video of EMT’s rescuing and saving this dog who had fallen in a frozen pond. I heard some people say “I sure do not want them being my EMT. Look at them taking care of that dog in the ambulance”.   I was impressed with these EMT’s. They are men of value….they did what was right against what some may say. They were not doing it for fame and fortune but to help a living being in trouble. I was so impressed that I can say that I would want these EMT’s to be taking care of me. These are the ones I would wish would be there to get me in an emergency. I watched them working over that dog and the man telling him “hang in there buddy. we got you. hang in there” and I could hear them saying that to me in a crisis. These are men with honor, dignity, compassion and most of all VALUES.


video by

Right now, we live in a world where kids are being given the example of doing anything stupid just to get on television and make money. They do not want to go to school, learn a trade or anything. They just want to be on these shows which have the worst values I have ever seen. And so, it was more than nice to see these NY Firefighters showing such values and helping an animal in need. I hope that we see more and more people following their example and doing what is right.

When we just sit back and let things happen be it an animal in trouble, abuse of children, animals, the elderly, someone taking advantage of people, someone stealing, someone endangering others……no matter what it is, then we are just as bad as the ones doing it. Living with honor and morals and values also means being brave and standing up for what is right.

The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don’t do anything about it.

~ Albert Einstein

It takes people with values to stand up against the evil in the world. As I look around the world, you can tell there has been a lot of turning a blind eye to things that are wrong. But that does not mean, we can not stand up in our corner of the world.

February 11, 2016 - Posted by | Inspiration | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

