Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Are You Running Against The Wind?

my logo

There was a time, when I felt like life was under our control. And then one day on one of those days where I felt like I was trying to move the mountain, I started feeling like I was running against the wind. It was that day that I realized that there really is very little we are controlling in our lives. We just think we are. In reality, the only thing we can really control is how we react to what happens to us.

video from BobSegerChannel

(I take no credit for this video. It is strictly for educational purpose on the content of my blog.)

It is then that I realize that when you have to beat your head against a brick wall, constantly fight to do what you want and feel like you are constantly running against the wind, that perhaps you are trying to change the flow of your life in a way that was not meant to be.

I believe that the Creator watches us sometimes and must smile, just like we do as parents when we watch our children try to put one of those little wooden star, circle, square and rectangle dowel shaped things in the hole and when it does not fit, we will see our child pick up the hammer and try to beat it in to fit. It is those days we feel like we are fighting a constant battle.

Now, do not misunderstand me. I think the good things in life are worth working for, but I think when we come to the point that we are beating our heads against the wall ALL the time to get to where we want or to get something we want, than we are trying to force the glass slipper on like the ugly stepsister did in Cinderella. We are trying to force that which does not fit.  I have learned that sometimes what we wish for is just not meant to be. That is not to say do not try. The wisdom I learned was that if we have to force something even if we manage to “get the glass slipper on”, it will pinch and hurt and not feel right afterwards.


There is the risk you cannot afford to take and there is the risk you cannot afford not to take.

Peter Drucker

So, how do we know when we are trying to force that which does not fit?  I love this quote below for it gives the first hint of what I have learned. How do we know?  The answer is by how long we keep beating our heads against the wall.

image from www.rodneybrace.com

If we find ourselves month after month after month pushing and battling to get what we want, if we find ourselves never making any headway, then perhaps it is time to stop and feel the wind. It is time to feel the current again and see if it was trying to lead us into a direction that is even better. All good things take sacrifice but we have to learn the difference in sacrifice and beating ourselves in the head for something that is not meant to be. And that is a hard lesson for several reasons. One is learning how to know when we are trying to make something happen or make someone love us that is not meant to be. The other part is that we are “self” people by nature and some of us have the “I Want” gene a lot stronger than others and do not know that not all we want is good for us.

I learned this with working our dreams. It took us two years to sell our house and I will have to admit that I was getting to the point at the end that I wondered was I trying to force something that was not meant to happen. As long as I felt happy and excited and it felt right with this decision to sell, then I knew that we were headed in the right direction. But there were a few times at the end that I felt that despair and defeat. It was then, I asked the Creator to please show me and to please tell me was it time to let it go or were we supposed to do this move. And every time I asked, that very day it never failed we would get a call and someone wanted to see the house. That one little sign told me to give it a little more time. And we sold our house and here we are.

“You are not the momentary whim of a careless creator experimenting in the laboratory of life…You were made with a purpose.”

Og Mandino in “The Greatest Miracle in the World”

We all have a reason for being here, a purpose. And learning what that is often takes us a life time because some of us try to force what is not meant to be.  We have stepped out into the river and try to walk against the current and wonder why we stay in the same place.  Time has shown me that we have to allow ourselves to open freely and ask the Creator where He is leading us. That is not easy because it means relinquishing the control we “think” we have. Sometimes we need to stop and feel the current and feel the flow and see if we are flowing in the right direction.
“[The void] It’s that place in our lives where what we’ve been hanging onto….clinging to for dear life….is stripped away. It’s that place in us where we let go of what we know, what we think we know, and what we want and surrender to the unknown. It is the place of saying and meaning, “I don’t know.” It means standing there with our hands empty for a while, sometimes watching everything we wanted disappear; our self-image, our definition of who we thought we should be, the clones we’ve created of ourselves, the people we thought we had to have, the things we thought were so important to collect and surround ourselves with, the job we were certain was ours, the place we thought we’d live in all our lives….Surrender control to the supreme wisdom and authority of God and to the Divine in your soul.  Step into the void with courage. Learn to say..”I don’t know.”  That’s not blind faith. It’s pure faith that will allow God and your spirit to lead you wherever your soul wants and needs to go.”
Melody Beattle, “Finding Your Way Home”

March 18, 2016 - Posted by | Inspiration | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

