Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Can Love Build A Bridge?

my logo

I laid here today thinking about all the hate that seems to be in the world today. You can not go on the newspaper sites, on social media sites, any site without seeing it. Our world is being taken over with hate and anger which accomplishes nothing. Only in calmness can we accomplish anything. And remember how important forgiveness is. Forgiveness is for our hearts not the one who wronged us.

I do not call myself by any party name for I am ashamed of what I see in the politics of late. I call myself an American. We really have to stop being complacent and saying that is just how it is for it is not working. We need to hold our leaders be accountable and we need to set the tone for what we as Americans accept and that is a tone of compassion and love and of caring about the people of this country. If we are cynical, filled with anger and hate, then we are teaching our children and those around us to be that way when they grow up.

I remember growing up in racially tense times in the sixties and remember hearing over and over that only we could change the prejudice and anger by changing what we do and what we teach our children. I wonder if it is time that the American people start infusing love into this world and work to regain what we once had. Is it time to bring back respect, and honor and trust and most of all understanding.

Part of this song below says “when we stand together it’s our finest hour” and how true that is. Look at what this country did after 9-11 when we came together as one.  Politicians put aside all the ugliness and joined with each other to help this country heal. People came together and there was none of this division for we were standing for our country as one and not as this section and that section.

video by

But somewhere along the way..the past few years, that has all changed and I see so many people who are so angry and filled with such hate and only want for themselves. I hear comments mocking helping those in need, helping animals, helping people who are starving in other parts of the world. And all I hear is people who look for something to be offended over.

So, I wonder if we can replace the hate with love and bring back the love for our country and for each other. I wonder can we once again swing the tide back to a country that is “for the people”?  This is our country and in spite of all that is going on, I am proud to be an American. I love my country. I am ashamed of those running it and of all the fighting and bickering and racial tensions that I thought we left behind from the past. Is it possible for Americans to take back the country and infuse love and respect for each other in the atmosphere? Can we repeat our “finest hour”?

image from zazzle.com

If you could take one step to help our country become more unified, what would it be? One of my older than dirt lessons in life has been that we can not go out and change the whole world by ourselves. We must change our corner of the world and if everyone is doing that, then the whole world will be better.

One of the biggest lessons I learned in life being disabled and sick is that I have certain choices. Yes, things happen that are out of my control but I still have the choice in how I handle those things. And so I rely on the victim and survivor/warrior philosophy. I am a warrior and a survivor. Warriors/survivors are the ones that look for the solutions. Victims are the ones that are constantly bringing up all that is wrong and whining about it. They never once try to find a solution because they are comfortable complaining about all that is wrong. So, be a warrior/survivor and look for choices to make life and our country better.

April 3, 2016 - Posted by | Inspiration | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Remember when it was a negative to be a tattle tale or to lurk about trying to catch someone doing something bad so one could run and tell everyone? When private things were kept private and personal information not cheerfully or tearfully broadcast to everyone – like everyone cares?
    Seems like so many desperate for attention even at the expense of others. Lots of “show” about how “good” one is…
    Great post.

    Comment by philosophermouseofthehedge | April 4, 2016 | Reply

  2. You have so eloquently put words to my thoughts and feelings.

    Comment by Ramona | April 4, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

