Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

How Fast Is Your Hour Glass Running?

my logo

In today’s time there is a lot of what I call the “busy-busy syndrome”. It is like watching ants running all over the place. Families on the go all the time, people rushing from one thing to the other. And maybe it is the southern in me, but I have to wonder why the need to rush?  How can you enjoy anything if you are always rushing. It is like trying to eat a meal in five minutes. You do not even taste the food.

Do people try to shove too much into their day?  Maybe they want to do too many things at once. I remember being young and thinking I had all the time in the world to do things and thinking I had time later to spend with loved ones. But, we are not guaranteed that. Time is like sand and slides right through our fingers. Have you ever gotten up one morning and then suddenly it is bed time and you wonder where all the time went? That is how easily we can lose it and if we are rushing all the time, it is even easier.

“Your children can be around you all day, but if you don’t spend quality time with them and if you don’t pay attention to them and talk to them and listen to them, it doesn’t matter that they are just around you.” 

Brandy Norwood

There is time and then there is quality time. We all have plain ole time that slips through our fingers but if we are rushing all the time, we are losing that quality time. I would rather have thirty minutes of quiet time talking to my children, than ten hours of everyone rushing around half way talking.

I guess being older than dirt, I look at life differently. I realize that all these things we think we have to do are not going to make one difference when we die. I would rather my loved ones remember me hugging them and telling them I loved them than all the gifts in the world.

Son and I were talking about how families seldom sit down to eat meals together anymore, how televisions and computers occupy so much time that conversation does not happen anymore. When we moved over the mountain and were at the motel seven weeks, we got up every morning and went down to the little dining room and ate breakfast together and sat there drinking coffee and talking.  And we got spoiled to that because we would sit there for over an hour just talking.

I am such a country girl and love the slower paced life. That does not mean I do not want to go anywhere or do anything because I do. I just do not want the rushing that seems to go on today. I would love to slowly travel across the country in that bus we have on our dream list. The reason for the little bus like they use to pick up the handicapped, is it has a lift for my chair and motor homes do not. But, slowly go across not zoom and then you can’t remember where you went or what you saw.

I would love to go and spend two weeks in a boarding room right near the Panacea in Italy and be close enough to get to the train and close enough to just meander around the streets right there and soak it all up. I love Italy and on my bucket list is to return there one day. I would love to go to France and see Julia’s France, the back streets and the real people and slowly walk the streets and see all the vendors.

I think I no longer have a hurry button on me and it makes me sad to see so many rushing around and then can not even really tell you what they did that day. Time, it runs out for all of us so what have you done with yours? How fast is the sand running through yours in comparison to what you are doing? We have no guarantees of tomorrow and I do not want to regret not being with those I love and not telling them and showing them how much I love them.

Son and I do grounding which is going back to earth and nature. We sit outside, bare feet on the ground with the wind softly blowing and the sun shining through, and we allow all the negative energy to escape through our feet into the earth. We also take the time to just talk about life. You all should try it some time. Unplug those computers, cellphones, WiFi or turn them off and allow your bodies to just release all of that negative energy that flows through the air from all the electronics we use and let it flow out the bottoms of your feet. I think you will be amazed. Our NA ancestors knew this and knew that we were part of nature and how to heal ourselves.

May 20, 2016 - Posted by | Inspiration | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

