Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

My Feelings On #shootingsinOrlando

my logo

It has taken me time to process all my emotions on the shootings in Orlando. I have felt grief, anger, resentment, frustration, compassion, and shock. My heart breaks for the families that lost loved ones and those that survived.

I am angry that this was allowed to happen on our soil. I am angry that LGBT were targeted because of hate and because of a religion that calls for their deaths here and across the world. I am angry that people in power are trying to minimize this and down play it and are trying to turn it into a gay issue when it is a hate issue and are trying to use it for gun control.

I am angry that ridiculous people who call themselves “Christians” are saying this is God’s judgement on the LGBT. NO, it is not. This is hatred and terrorism pure and simple. Christ was about love and compassion and if someone’s religion calls on them to hate people and/or kill them, then they need to look for a new religion. Not all followers of Christ feel the way these so-called Christians are talking.

I am angry that so many seem to have no compassion. There are mothers and fathers crying who lost their children. Brothers and sisters who lost their siblings, partners who lost their partners and friends who lost their friends. Where is the compassion and love? We should be offering love and support not more hatred.

And I am angry enough that I will NEVER allow my anger to turn me into someone like this man who is despicable and murdered all of those young people because they were told to hate them and kill them. We must make love win out.

Many prayers for these people suffering now from their loss and from the trauma done to them. And my heart breaks for them. The only thing I can say to them is I am so sorry this happened…so sorry. It was so wrong. And I hope they know many people around the country love and care about them.

June 22, 2016 - Posted by | Inspiration | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Very well said.

    Comment by Libby | June 23, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

