Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

You-tube and Children

This is a topic that lies dear to my heart because it involves children. There are a lot of vloggers on You-tube and I enjoy watching some of them but what bothers me is that You-tube has an age limit of 13 to be able to be on You-tube and yet you will find kids as young as 7 years old commenting on these vlogs. And while some are just hooked on watching the vloggers, other young tweens (7-12) and young teens are on just to bully and harass and I think the parents would be shocked to see what they are doing.

I often wonder if parents even know what their kids are doing on those smart phones that they give them. I wonder do they realize that these kids are able to watch very inappropriate vlogs that have very vulgar and even sexually oriented content.

I believe this is one of the causes of kids dropping out of school for I see so many posting how they can not wait to get pregnant and quit school and make money on You-tube and they do. I have seen channels started by pregnant 13 and up kids who are not really ready to be a parent and have no education.

Although there are some family oriented vloggers, I personally would not want my child to pretend to be sick so they could stay home from school and watch their favorite vloggers, or to take their smart phones to the bathroom at school so they could watch or to become pregnant because they saw it on You-tube vlogs. There was a situation recently where a vlogger was walking in a store with another vlogger and a young girl saw her and ran up and hugged her. Her mother was like “Stop! Stop! Who are you?” to the vlogger.  And that told me right there that parents do not pay attention to what their children are watching on the internet.

I personally think that You-tube should enforce their age limits and should also make the age limit higher to have a channel on You-tube. I read some of the comments written by these young kids and they are just hooked on watching these vloggers. They even send gifts, etc to these vloggers. And I think parents should start being diligent on this because this is another way that predators find our children.

March 27, 2017 - Posted by | Inspiration

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

