Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Kindness

simply danLrenes opinion

Kindness is one of the things that we can freely give just as love is. And yet, so many today are withholding kindness, resorting to name calling, hatred, denigration etc. And many of them are the ones that will site that they did a random act of kindness by buying someone a cup of coffee.

When was the last time people served in a soup kitchen? I did before my health got so bad and I served on forearm crutches. I loved it. I met some really special people. When was the last time people noticed someone really hurting and reached out to them even if just to say “can I help you?”

When was the last time people took dinner to a shut-in or just visited. Being shut in can be very lonely and company is so wonderful to have. When was the last time someone you knew just lost a loved one and was having to head to the funeral home to make arrangements and you offered to go with them?

Kindness should not be random. It should be all the time. A smile is kindness, a greeting can be kindness and just showing you care can be kindness.  A card sent to someone sick is kindness. We live in a crazy, crazy world where everyone is rush, rush, rush. And I want to say what are you rushing for? Slow down and really take a look around you. I see people who are ignoring their children because they would rather be on social media. Or children ignoring their elderly parents or sick parents because they just don’t want to be bothered.

We only have so long on this world and no one is guaranteed a tomorrow. So, we should make the best of every day and spread kindness and love. There is a quote I love for it says it all. I try to live this way.  I hope it touches your heart like it touched mine.

“I shall pass through this world but once. Any good therefore that I can do or any kindness that I can show to any human being, let me do it now. Let me not defer or neglect it, for I shall not pass this way again.”

Stephen Grellet

March 29, 2017 Posted by | Inspiration | 2 Comments

   

