Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Core Curriculum

Ever since Core Curriculum entered our schools, I have been concerned. And as I watched the past couple of years and saw what was happening to our children, I became more and more concerned.

I was a teacher for many years and I know that children learn in different ways.  I am not adverse to different methods of learning. I am against forcing one style of learning on all children. I will use math for an example.

My son could do math problems Junior High and up without showing any work, which of course teachers want to see to see that you really knew what you were doing.  He just accomplished things in a different way than other kids. But, I most certainly did not force all my kids to do like he did.

We have to know our kids in our classrooms and pay attention to how they learn and what gives them the skills to do the work. I have watched our little school here struggle and more and more kids were dropping out of school because they could not do Core Curriculum math like they wanted and their parents did not understand it either.  And our school is in jeopardy of being closed and turned into a private school.

Bill Gates spend a lot of money and I mean a lot pushing the Core Curriculum into our schools and I asked myself why? Was it to create more revenue for computer devices as the schools are going book-less many of them and using tablets only?

When I taught school much was memorizing and teaching what it meant but they do not do that anymore. Many children do not even know the multiplication tables. I feel like Core Curriculum has taken our children down instead of up. And my prayer is they remove it from all the school and go back to standard learning before it is too late for our children.

Keep in mind that this is one person’s opinion..mine. I know many feel as I do as I have talked to parents and teachers. The teachers that seem to love it are the ones just out of college that said they were told they could do anything in their classroom as long as they agreed to core curriculum. And they said they loved it and loved having a planning period (wow never had one when I taught) and could even put their class in another teacher’s classroom if they needed a break and the other teacher could do the same.

It will be interesting to see what happens to Core Curriculum in the coming year.

April 14, 2017 - Posted by | Personal opinions | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

