Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Are Hate And Vengeance The New Norm?

Are Hate And Vengeance The New Norm?

I have written on hate before but today when I read through all the news headlines, it struck me that both HATE and VENGEANCE have become the new norm. Not only is hate becoming more normal so is going after people, trying to destroy them and close any business they have. Automatically turning to hate, vengeance and vigilante justice is becoming the norm and increasing over the past few years.

I just want to point out some things that people need to think of before they try to destroy someone just because you do not like what they said or did. Right now there is a “fire Colbert campaign” going on because he made a homophobic Trump insult.  I do not agree with that kind of talk but seriously people have gotten ridiculous using social media to ruin people. I am totally against what he said but to try to stop him from having a job because of what he said is called censorship. Remember that thing called freedom of speech? I agree with making complaints against it to the station and asking for something to be done but I do not agree with trying to destroy a person because they do not agree with you. What he said was insulting, ugly, hurtful and should not have been said but it was not illegal.

People try to close businesses because they did not do what they wanted never once thinking about all the employees that need that job to support themselves and their families. It is vigilante justice without thinking of consequences and I have to wonder what age people are promoting these campaigns. See, it is teens and tweens that do not have the skills to see the consequences of their actions and many of them get on the bandwagon on these things because it feels powerful to them. Whether people like it or not, we do still have freedom of speech but it comes with consequences for everyone including those propagating all the hate and vengeance.

Hate and revenge are rampant. You want to affect Colbert, stop watching his show. The less people who watch makes an impact on the show and the station. I have seen such behavior as this in the past few years on smaller scales and now on huge scales. Oh yes, let’s destroy Ivanka Trump’s clothing industry because you hate Trump. What about the people who depend on that income to live? Or, destroy Chick-fil-A because they do not agree with LGBT beliefs. Lets go to smaller incidences like the children bullied because they were different or did not agree with what you believe and were bullied to the point they committed suicide. Where does it stop? What will you do when someone decides they hate YOU and want to destroy you? With the way things are going it can happen at any time.

I believe in standing up for what is right but I also believe in doing it the right way. If you are against a company for legitimate reasons, stop buying from them. If you are against a restaurant, stop eating there. Just use common sense and do not let your hate and vengeance be something that destroys a lot of innocent people. As I watch all the name calling, hate, attempts to destroy others, etc on social media and in the news, I just feel sick in the pit of my stomach. I can not nor will I live my life hating. If I am against something going on in the government, I will make it known, write letters, sign petitions etc but I will not try to destroy everyone.

If I do not like certain famous people or their shows, I will stop watching them for watching them is supporting them. If I do not like certain vloggers like the couple who just had two children removed because of their treatment of their children on the vlogs, I will report it and I will never watch it. But, I will never try to destroy someone and destroy innocent people in the process. Hate only creates more hate and mob mentality destroys people.

And that is simply danLrene’s personal opinion.

May 4, 2017 - Posted by | Personal opinions | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Well said.

    Comment by Libby | May 5, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

